With an eclectic sound incorporating abstract grooves across the spectrum of house, disco and techno, Italian producer Love Will Say No joins us for a guest mix and interview ahead of his debut release on the label, on our forthcoming SPIRALS series.

Firstly, what is the story behind the name “Love Will Say No” and is this your first & only artist alias? 


I made records under many names, the most used were Luca Carnifull and, together with a longtime friend called Santana Pasta,as Fare Soldi.
Some years ago I had a dream: I was in a band named like that with a friend of mine. The day after I asked my friend if she wanted to put a band together, but she declined the invite. The name sounded good, I kept it.

What is your background and how did you get into music? 


I started as a teenager like everyone else, picking up a guitar and writing (bad) songs. Then, in the following 20 years, I played in different bands, I got my own label, produced records for Major labels, djed all around the world.
But I cannot assure that my songs got better during all these years.

Where are you based and how has your home country or town influenced your music & career? 


I live in Italy in Treviso, near Venice, but I was born and raised in Udine, a small city in the northeast corner of the Country, which I absolutely love. My hometown has always been inside my music, when I was living there, and even more now. It was a huge influence during all these years, with its lovely landscapes, the attitude of the people and all the experiences I got there.

How would you describe your sound – do you think your music falls into a particular genre?

I suppose it could be called dance music. But when I started this project, some of my most hidden influences came back and got into this sound: from ‘90s shoegaze to deep house, from Steve Reich to some forgotten soul music, blues and jazz.
But I mainly use this alias to express tons of things that are very personal, also if they could appear a little bit cryptic to others, writing this music to talk to me about myself, like a cheaper kind of headshrinker.
To the most of it you can dance to, that’s the only thing I know.

You are making your debut on Constant Circles with your track “El Gordo” on our forthcoming SPIRALS release. How did you approach this project and how did the idea come together?

There are some songs I call “the hangover songs”, born after a looong night wandering around with friends, with too much drinks and too much fun. “El gordo” tells about one of those, with this curious and messy latin vibe.

What is your production process – is each project different? And what are your key pieces of studio kit?

I try not to constantly write music, because I think is very important to give space to experiences to be collected and assimilated. Then, at some point, the harvest comes, and I have to write down like 5 or 10 songs in a week, and then keep working on them for weeks or months, adding tons of stuff, then taking it away because absolutely useless, refining details until I got sick of it, and decide the track is ready.
Once Tom Waits said that to make an amazing record, if you have a good idea, you can do it even just banging a cane.
And that’s the less boring thing I can say about studio equipment and my attitude about it.

Can you tell us something that people won’t know about you?

I’m pretty sure there are tons of things people won’t know about me, and I don’t blame them about that.

What do you have coming up in terms of releases and gigs?

I’m mainly focusing on a new ep in the works that should be released in the next months.

How did you put together your guest mix for the radio show & what have you included – any exclusives or surprises?

I wanted to make a very enjoyable mix, with many moments more devoted to the listening and others able to shake the floor. So I selected some tunes that I extremely love and mixed together in the most natural way, with no fancy mixing tricks, to let the focus on the music. Inside you’ll find also an unreleased Love Will Say No track.
Hope you’ll like everything.
Keep love going.

Check out Love Will Say No’s guest mix on the Constant Circle Radio show with Just Her – catch one of the broadcasts below:

Sat 02.11 – http://www.deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Just Her Mix only)
Mon 04.11 – http://www.influxradio.co.uk 3-5pm UK
Sat 09.11 – http://www.deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Guest Mix only)
Wed 13.11 – http://www.globalmixxradio.com 6pm EST/10pm UK
Wed 13.11 – http://www.dnaradiofm.com 9pm ART/Midnight UK
Wed 13.11 – http://www.protonradio.com 10pm EST/3am UK
Thu 14.11 – http://www.midnigthexpressfm.com – 4pm CDT/10pm UK
Sat 16.11 – http://www.deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Just Her Mix Repeat)
Sat 23.11 – http://www.deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Guest Mix Repeat)
Sat 30.11 – http://www.deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Random Repeat)