Hey Nolan, welcome to CC 🙂 Firstly, what is your background and how did you get into music?

Thanks. Somehow I’ve managed to survive  full time in the music industry for the last 15 years or so. I do a lot of engineering, mixing and mastering so fortunately don’t rely on gigs so much these days! In 2005 I launched Berwick Street Records to release my own music on vinyl and since then have released literally hundreds of tracks on loads of various labels from Bedrock, Get Physical, Mobilee to Kittball, Nervous & Skint Records. 

How would you describe your sound – do you think your music falls into a particular genre?

I have a problem with fitting into genres as I don’t have a specific sound or style that I produce over and over again. Consequently I have had to come up with loads of different monikers to release under so I don’t completely confuse people who follow me if they like one particular style! So for the more Techno sounding stuff I have a project called Cypherpunx which I do with Douglas Horner. We have released on Bedrock & Rebellion with our next release about to come out on Crosstown Rebels. I also have a downtempo project  called Flip Fantazia (also with Douglas) which we originally started to write music for Sync but we’ve just released our debut artist album called The Trip on vinyl and digital. We’ve released with Ninja Tune PM, Cavendish, Deep East Music, BMG PM, Deli Music plus more with our Tv/Sync music so far. I also have another solo downtempo project called T_Mo which I’ve released loads of music for Sync some of which has featured on Masterchef, Sky News, The One Show etc. I used to make Tech House under the name Timo Garcia but quit that guise a couple of years ago when I saw the direction Tech House was taking! So on a House tip I’m still releasing under my NOLAN guise (Nolan being my real middle name!).

You are releasing a couple of tracks soon on Sasha’s label Last Night On Earth in collab with CC boss Just Her – how did this come about and how did the projects come together?

Yes very excited about this release. We have one track coming out on a Sasha compilation and the other as a single with another track I’ve done which features Amber Jolene on vocals too. I’ll try and work all three into this guest mix. It’s great working with Just Her since she also lives in Brighton and so we could work together in the studio (pre-lockdown). 

What is your production process – is each project or track different? And what are your key pieces of studio kit? 

Every track is different. Sometimes I just start making beats but most of the time it’s a sample or hook idea or vocal which triggers the process. I’ve just bought a Moog Sub37 so am looking forward to spending time learning and using this synth. But my go to soft synths are Omnisphere and Pigments.

What would be your dream label to release on and why?

Crosstown Rebels has always been a goal and finally next month we have a Cypherpunx release coming out on it so we’re very excited about that.  It’s a collaboration with our friend Luke Brancaccio so keep an eye out for that one!

What is the coolest, wildest or worst gig you have ever played and why?

A few years ago I was touring Brazil quite often as Timo Garcia and one gig I did a few years running was called MOB Festival which was basically a 72 hour non stop party on a cruise ship holding 2500 clubbers which went from São Paulo to Rio and back stopping off at a little Island to get off for a day party on a beach. The line ups were always huge too so it was great to get to know some of the big name DJs who were on board for a few days too. 

What do you have coming up in terms of releases and gigs (or live streams)?

Release wise I have NOLAN tracks coming out on Last Night On Earth, Bedrock and Mobilee. As Cypherpunx we have releases coming up on Crosstown Rebels and Global Underground. Plus we have a few remixes of our Flip Fantazia album project on the boil so they should be coming out before the end of the year too 😉
On the gig front…. nothing! thanks Covid!

How did you put together your guest mix for the radio show & what have you included – any exclusives or surprises?

I’ve showcased a couple of my Nolan releases in the mix including the ones coming out on Sasha’s LNOE label and a few promos I’ve received lately.

You can catch Nolan on Constant Circles Radio with Just Her on one of the following broadcasts:

Every Sat – https://www.deepinradio.com Midnight CET/11pm UK 
Mon 05.10 – https://www.cosmosradio.de/ 8pm Berlin/7pm UK
Mon 05.10 – https://www.Influxradio.co.uk 4-6pm UK
Tue 06.10 – https://ncradio.fr/ 8-10pm France/7-9pm UK
Sun 11.10 – https://www.saturosounds.com/ – 3-5pm UK
Wed 14.10 – https://www.dnaradiofm.com 9pm ART/Midnight UK
Wed 14.10 – https://www.protonradio.com 10pm EST/3am UK