Already making waves in the underground scene, Berlin based artist Algorythm makes a welcome debut on Constant Circles with a deep experimental track “Popeye”. Ahead of the release on our forthcoming SPIRALS series we caught up with him for an interview & guest slot on the radio show.

So firstly, what is the story behind the name Algorythm?
The story is that I’ve always been fascinated by technology and music since I first discovered computers, hardware and electronic music. Finding flow and letting my inner algorythm run free is sort of a daily ritual and something I’ve always enjoyed doing. Algorythm is a half breed: one part glitchy source code, running wild in a machine, and one part rhythm manipulation by human interaction.

What is your background and how did you get into music?
Growing up, I spent a lot of time collecting old drum machines & synthesizers, trying to learn how to make music. It took a long time of experimenting down different roads musically, but I finally found a path that feels like the most interesting so far.

Where are you based and how has your home country or town influenced your music & career?
I’m based in Berlin since over a decade and I love the rich cultural heritage and all of the amazing subcultures here. This city is rapidly changing but it’s still a big part of my inspiration and I hope some of that vibe comes across through my music.

How would you describe your sound – do you think your music falls into a particular genre?
I’ve always had a hard time trying to fit into just one genre. I easily get bored and like to experiment with new styles and sounds. Hopefully there are some reoccurring rhythm’s that will sound familiar after a while.

You are making your debut on Constant Circles with “Popeye” – how did you approach this project and how did the idea come together?
I’m honoured to have a release on Constant Circle! I’ve been in touch with Just Her for some time now and I’m happy that we found something that we both think is a good fit for the label. It’s a track that I’ve been playing out a lot and got some great feedback on, so I’m excited that I’ve found a nice home for it.

What is your production process – is each project different? And what are your key pieces of studio kit?
I won’t go into my studio set-up too much in detail since it’s always changing, even though I have some special “algo-ingredients” that has stayed the same since I started this project. I try to approach every new track as a sketch at first, usually with some idea before I even switch on my machines. Then see where it takes me. Sometimes I will use just one machine for everything and sometimes I just use my computer. After the sketch is done I turn to my algorythms for the final stage tweaking.

What is the coolest gig you have ever played & why?
In a weird cave for an S&M party. Amazing and scary at the same time!

What is your deepest, darkest secret?
Haha, I don’t think I have any secrets! Besides my identity of course.

What do you have coming up in terms of releases and gigs?
My new EP “Hunter” is available soon through digital outlets. I’m also in the finishing stages of an EP for Coco Cole’s Universe Language label out later this the year.

How did you put together your guest mix for the radio show & what have you included – any exclusives or surprises?
I spent a rainy day with the heater in my studio set to max and did a couple of takes until I locked it in. Inspired by ‘Popeye’ I tried to keep it mixed between straight 4/4 and broken beats. Also included two new unreleased tracks, hope you like the mix!

R A D I O //
You can catch Algorythm’s guest mix on Constant Circles Radio with Just Her, catch one of the live broadcasts on the schedule below:
Sat 06.04 – deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Just Her Mix only)
Sun 07.04 – expansionradiolive.com – 7pm UK
Mon 08.04 – influxradio.co.uk 11am-1pm UK
Tue 09.04 – ncradio.eu 7pm France / 6pm UK
Tue 09.04 – dnaradiofm.com 9pm ART/Midnight UK
Wed 10.04 – globalmixxradio.com 6pm EST/10pm UK
Wed 10.04 – protonradio.com 10pm EST/3am UK
Thu 11.04 – midnigthexpressfm.com – 4pm CDT/10pm UK
Sat 13.04 – deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Guest Mix only)
Tue 16.04 – ncradio.eu 7pm France / 6pm UK
Thu 18.04 – midnigthexpressfm.com – 4pm CDT/10pm UK
Sat 20.04 – deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Just Her Mix Repeat)
Sat 27.04- deepinradio.com 11pm CET/10pm UK (Guest Mix Repeat)

Follow Algorythm on SOUNDCLOUD and SPOTIFY